From the age of 40, it is very important to undergo an eye test

Types of glaucoma

Glaucoma is the second leading cause of blindness in the world. A degenerative, silent disease that undermines the optic nerve, causing progressive loss of nerve fibres of the retina and changes in the appearance of the optic nerve. All this without the patient hardly perceiving it, especially in the early stages of the disease.


There are several types of glaucoma, each of which has a different origin and evolution, although most cases correspond to the so-called simple chronic glaucoma or open-angle glaucoma.

Glaucoma Treatment

Our intention is to make an early diagnosis of the disease. Therefore, in the event that one of our patients has a family history of glaucoma, the ideal option is for tests to be carried out when they are 40. In fact, everyone should check their eyes every one or two years routinely. At the Fernández-Vega Ophthalmological Institute these routine checks include measuring intraocular pressure, which helps diagnose the problem in advance. 


  • The trabeculectomy
  • Non-perforating deep scleroctomy

request an appointment now

Leave us your details

We will contact you

Call us

Or if you prefer, we can call you:

985 240 141

We are in


Avenida Dres. Fernández-Vega 34 33012, Principality of Asturias (Spain)


C / Príncipe de Vergara  131,  28002 , Madrid (Spain)

Descubre temas de interés en oftalmología con el enfoque más divulgativo

Acceder al blog

Cookies allow us to offer our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.